Beautiful 100 Famous Mountain Arashima in snow. 雪の荒島岳

  






S'up?

The Caveman had the chance to hit another of the famous mountains the other day.

It was a blustery day on Mt. Arashimadake in Fukui.

. . . about Mt. Arashimadake (荒島岳)

This mountain is the highest in Fukui Prefecture and was listed by Yuya Fukada as one of Japan's Famous Mountains.  It is not that high, at just over 1,500 meters, but its location as the highest point near the Sea of Japan in the area ensures that it captures some exciting weather and lots of snow.

It offers a 360-degree panorama on clear days.  The Caveman has to take the interwebs word on that.  It wasn't clear enough for me to see much.

The origin of the name is murky, but if you take the meaning of the individual characters, it's kind of interesting.  "Ara" could be something like "violent" or "laid waste."  "Shima" means "island."  "Dake" means "peak."

Area:

Fukui Prefecture is hard to get to.  The extension of the Hokuriku Shinkansen to Tsuruga Station in 2024 made it easier to get to.  Now, you can get from Tokyo Station to Fukui in a blindingly fast, 3.5 hours.  (Another hour on a local train can get you to the trailhead.)

Fukui is a bit of an unknown gem because of its remoteness.  Ono City, which Mt. Arashima overlooks, is very quaint.  There is samurai history and a commanding castle on a hill.

Location:

Map:  ***If you want a link to the latest Yama to Kogen map, comment and I'll get you a link.  This link is to a printable topo map of Mt. Arashima 荒島岳.

Starting and stopping point: 

Peaks bagged: Fukadaninokashira (深谷ノ頭) ~ Maearashima (前荒島) ~ Nakaarashima (中荒島) ~ Arashimadake (荒島岳) ~ Koarashima (小荒島)

(First-time) peaks # 1,087~1,091

100 Famous Mountain (百名山) peak # 57

Getting there/getting around:  

I drove.  It was a long drive.

The nearest station to the trailhead is the Kadohara Station on the Kuzuryu Line.  I don't know how useful this train line is if you want to climb Arashima.  The first arrival from Fukui is 10:42.  I met a guy who came by train and was not very far along around 1:00 pm.  I doubt he could make it to the top and back in time.


Helpful Info

Weather Information: 

Time and distance

YAMAP's Estimate Time: 7:27     Distance: 10.3 km
The Caveman did it in: Total Time: 6:27  Break time: :66  Distance:   10.5 km
Elevation:  Lowest:  346 m Highest: 1,524 m Total Ascent: 1,329 m Total Descent: 1,329 m

Technical considerations/difficulty:  

This is a relatively spicy hike.  

In distance and change in elevation, it's comparable to climbing Mt. Fuji via the Fujinomiya Trail.

It's fairly steep.  Quite a bit of this is exposed, and the trail traverses across the top of a narrow ridge.  

One area called Mochigakabe gets a lot of press for being dangerous.  It's quite steep and has a lot of ropes and chains.  For the life of me, I can't identify exactly where it is because any ropes or chains were covered by snow when I was there, as were any signs identifying that part of the trail.  I believe that stretch is between the Shakunage Daira ("Rhododendron Flats") and Mt. Maearashima.  

In the snow, I think the more dangerous area is not the Mochigakabe but the last stretch from Maearashima and Nakaarashima to the peak of Arashimadake.  You have to climb up a long, steep, exposed knife-like ridge for the last kilometer or so.  There were large, long cracks in the snow pack there.  One slip and you'd be done in.  I'm told that avalanches occur on the south side.  I tried to stay away from the south side!  It was very windy and visibility dropped considerably.  I could imagine just walking off the side of the ridge in a whiteout.

I was wearing chain spikes.  They seemed adequate.  Some people, (the salesgirl at Mont Bel in particular) told me I needed 12-point crampons--and really expensive boots.  I am not really sure why.

I had an ice axe.  That came in handy on the way up.

I had trekking poles.  Ordinarily, I disdain them, but I found them useful on the way down because there are lots of bare spots with no trees or boulders to grab onto.

Facilities:  

Mrs. Caveman spent the night in the car at the Arashimanosato michinoeki.*  There are (really nice!) public toilets and some vending machines open 24 hours. 

*michinoeki literally means road station.  Michinoeki are spots that cater to tourists in offering a place to rest and sample and buy the local specialties.  The restaurants and shops at michinoeki typically close early but the parking lots are open 24 hours and they are popular places for hikers to sleep in their cars.  There is even a slang term for sleeping in the car--shachuhaku (車中泊).

There is a Mont Bel, many restaurants and souvenir shops at the michinoeki.

Free parking spaces galore.

Paid RV spots if you want electricity.  I did notice many RVs parked in the regular lot.  I guess they didn't need the electricity.

There is also a free parking lot right by the Kadogahara Trailhead.  There is also a public toilet there but it is only open in season.


Thoughts/observations/recommendations:  

Yet another mountain I climbed that I was robbed of a view on.  It happens often enough.  Days like today make the picture-perfect days all the more sweet.   I'm sorry to say that my pictures on this hike aren't as beautiful as some of the others I've taken.  

That said, I'd rather be on a mountain than in an office any day.  What this day lacked in views, it made up for in the excitement of the violent weather and low visibility.  The sweetness of this hike was more in the other senses than in sight.

It wasn't the ideal day for this mountain--but it was the day that I had available, and I'm glad I did it.  I probably will not get back to Fukui in this lifetime, and I was conscious of that fact on the hike, and I relished every step I took because of that.

(Along with all the regular stuff such as maps, headlamps, boots, feet, and brains, . . .) don't forget:

If you go in winter, don't forget an ice axe, crampons and walking poles.  And check the weather well before going.

Let's look at some pictures:

My route was an out-and-back from this parking lot at Kadohara.


This video is just at the top

This one is a bit longer




The parking lot.
I was alone when I arrived at 7 am.  One other person parked here and hiked that day.




Right out ot the parking lot, the road starts straight up.


...and looking back


Up above that road, you reach the actual trailhead


It was in the 50s (above 10 degrees C) down below, but there was snow not far above.

This spot here is called the Hakusan Bench.  It's the first lookout and Mt. Hakusan is in view.


The view from the Hakusan Bench








The area from just before Maearashima all the way to the top of Arashima is above the treeline and
is a bit . . .  exciting.




Yikes!


Visibility was this bad only for the last 10 minutes or so of the approach to the peak and the retreat from it.

It was a long ten minutes, though.  


Tada!




The last peak of the day, Koarashima (Little Arashima)




I wound up the day at a local sento.
The owner insisted on taking a picture of me.
A sento, for you who don't know, is a public bath. 
In distinction to Japan's famous onsens, the sento is a neighborhood bathhouse which just uses heated tap water, whereas onsen are natural hot springs with mineral-rich waters.
Sentos hail back to the days when private residences didn't have baths.
Not for the faint of heart.  The bath is 45 Celsius (113 F).


Mt. Arashima playing hide and seek.





Thank you for your attention to this matter!
Caveman out









No comments:

Post a Comment

Have a comment? Please, keep it clean.